Connecticut Yankee

Hunter and I have been visiting Oma in Connecticut for the past week. It has been hot, it has been cool, it has been sunny and we saw a day and a half of biblical rain. Essentially, a typical spring week in southern New England. I had forgotten how beautiful Connecticut is in the spring. The fields are all lush and the broad leaf tobacco is coming along under the mesh tents in Connecticut River Valley. We have taken the time to hike down by the Connecticut River and we’ve been out to Coventry Lake a couple times to play with Tante Katrina and Onkle Stephen. Today we took a ride on the Essex Steam Train and then went to visit Gillette’s Castle, two things I had never done even as a native Connecticut Yankee. It reminds me of how much there is to see even where I have spent decades living and growing up. In our adventures today, I learned a couple little things I didn’t know before today, and that’s the lesson for today; I can learn something new wherever I find myself as long as my eyes and mind are open and without prejudice.

New Haven Steam Train

CT River

Gillette Castle

Categories: Connecticut, Gillette Castle, Steam Train | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Connecticut Yankee

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    RIDDEN BEHIND THE “NEW” NEW HAVEN STEAM ENGINE????????????

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

